Monday Motivation

Like millions of others, I’ve been keeping up with all the news of Hurricane Harvey. Here in the DFW area, we’re far away from it and not having problems. I do have a lot of family down near Houston that have been impacted. Everyone is safe and accounted for, but there’s still a long way to go before this is all over.

In times like these, I always wish there was more I could do. I wish I had the money and resources to send a ton of aid and supplies. I wish I had a bigger home for family and friends to wait out the storm. I wish I wish I wish….

There may not be much I can do right now to help those in need, but there are small, every day things I can do to help those around me. I can hold the door open for the person behind me. I can let someone cut in front of me in the grocery line. I can offer a hand, a smile, a friendly wave. 

Instead of focusing on the big efforts that I can’t do right now, I’m going to focus on the small things I can do. Think about what small things you can do to help those around you. I know when I’m out and about I tend to keep to myself and just focus on the task at hand, but I know if I look around me and try to be more aware of others, I’ll find those opportunities. Be proactive. Don’t wait for something to happen to help those that need help. 

I don’t have a list of places on hand at the moment, but if you’re looking for ways to help those in the affected areas, you can check with the Red Cross, check local churches or schools, grocery stores, food banks, anywhere you can think of that might be taking donations. 

Leave a Reply

