Monday Motivation


Bonjour! Comment ça va?
Hello! How are you/how is it going?

This summer, my family has decided we’re going to learn French! My husband and I have been wanting to learn a new language and we want our kids to learn another language, so we made it a family goal. We downloaded the DuoLingo app on our phones and devices, we’ve been listening to French music, and we’ve watched movies in French.

I’m the type of person that needs projects. I need something to work on or I get really lazy and bored. Learning French has been my project this summer. Even though learning a new language isn’t easy, I can break things into small chunks, set goals, and enjoy my accomplishments!

Health and fitness has been an on-going project that I hope will  be a life-long project. I’m always thinking about what I want to accomplish, whether it’s running a distance in a certain time, lifting so much weight, or getting my body to look a certain way. Like learning a language, I’m still always learning something new. It’s going to take a lot of time and practice to get where I want to be.

If you’re new to fitness or you’re starting out in some new class or sport, it can feel like you’re learning a new language. When I took a barre class, I felt like everyone else there knew exactly what the instructor meant when she called out some pose, while I was looking around the room a bit frantic, watching everyone else, and doing my best to get in the right pose. At first, I didn’t understand the “language” of the class, but after a few classes, I felt much more “fluent” and comfortable. I felt like (for the most part) I was speaking the same language as everyone else in the class when I made my body move the right way. I felt the same way when I started CrossFit… I had to learn how to do each lift and each move. I had to learn progressions, starting with simple movements and building up to more complex moves.

If you’re new to something and you feel discouraged because you can’t quite get it right, stick with it! You may need more time, more help, more practice than you want, but you will get there!

Leave a Reply

