Allen Station Park and Cottonwood Creek Trail

Yesterday morning I went outside for just a moment and… it felt amazing. With a slight breeze it was almost…chilly. This got me super excited and I immediately knew how I wanted to take advantage of the weather…. exploring a new trail! I packed up the kids’ bike and scooter, filled out water bottles, and off we went.

This is a trail I’ve been wanting to check out for a while and just haven’t, and it’s been a while since I’ve talked about any trails. For me to really want to talk about them, I have to first experience them and it’s been a while since I’ve been anywhere new.

I’m not 100% sure what the trail is called that we went on, so for reference, I’m calling it the Allen Station Park/Cottonwood Creek Trail. I think both of those names apply to different segments of the trail. We parked over at Allen Station Park and went from there!

allenstation8

This is the map my fitness app recorded of where we went. If you look at some maps, they don’t show the new connection that was made that connects the Allen Station side to the Cottonwood Creek side. That part goes under 75. There’s something both cool and kind of scary about going under a big highway like that!

This was a fun little place to explore. The Allen Station segment had some historical markers and things set up, so it was both a fun exploration thing and a history lesson. The Cottonwood Creek is mostly right behind a neighborhood.

We saw more people out there than I expected, walking, running, and biking, and they were all ages! If you’re in the area, it’s a pretty neat place to check out. My son just asked me a few minutes ago if we can go out there again today because he had fun out there!

Here are a few photos I snapped. When we first left it was mostly cloudy and feeling nice, but about half-way through, the clouds were moving and the sun was coming out, so it warmed up pretty quick.

Leave a Reply

