Workout Wednesday

If you saw my Monday Motivation post, you saw me mention doing the Murph for Memorial Day. Murph is CrossFit workout named after LT. Michael P. Murphy, and is part of a scholarship foundation. Those brave enough to take the challenge make a pledge, do the workout, and then post their times. I don’t know a whole lot about it, but you can check out more information here. I’m guessing it’s probably too late to officially do it this year, but if you’re interested, it’s something to keep in mind for next year.

The official Murph workout is:

Run 1 mile
100 pull ups
200 push ups
300 squats
Run 1 mile
All of this with a 20 pound vest.

Yikes!!!! As much as I would love to be fit enough to do that, I knew there was no way that was going to happen. I haven’t really done any pull ups in weeks, much less with a 20 pound vest.

Fortunately, I found a scaled version I could do!

scaledmurph

This still kicked my butt! I did as much as I could with a 20 pound vest. This meant I could only do a few push ups at a time. I couldn’t wear it for the sit ups just because of how it fits. I got through the first 25 squats with the vest but had to take it off for a bit because I got really light headed. It’s pretty humid so the combination of that, the vest, and the work out didn’t work out in my favor for a little bit. I managed to do the last 25 squats with the vest and the second mile. I had to stop and walk for a bit… my body just kind of stopped and I had to catch my breath. But I finished.

My husband was nice enough to take some pictures for me. He gave me a hard time since he was trying to play with the kids, but he loves me 🙂

Maybe next year I’ll be fit enough to do the full Murph. It is definitely something I want to work towards! This work out here might be a good one to do every few months just to kind of see how I’m doing.

Knowing the background of this workout helped me push through when things got tough. I very easily could’ve quit, but I remembered why I was doing this. This wasn’t about me. It was to honor the memory of those who have died for our country. I don’t really have a way to give back to them, so I do what I can in their memory. I know there are several organizations out there that do stuff like this.

I have friends that do stuff for Medals of Honor (learn more about the organization here). If you know of any more, please leave a comment or contact me through the contact page. I would love to learn more about these organizations and pass on information!

Leave a Reply

