Field Trip!

Today my son took a field trip to a place I’ve been wanting to visit for a long time… The Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden!!!!

When I heard his grade was going there for his field trip, I hoped nothing would come up so I could tag along. I went as a chaperone, so I got to re-live the school days and ride the bus and take charge of a small group. (It really wasn’t as horrible as it sounds! Not like the zoo experience I had last year… that was pretty rough!)

Now, this isn’t the kind of place I normally write about as far as trails go, but if you’re in the area and willing to shell out a bit of money, it’s a great place to slow down for a nice stroll. Seriously, I think my fitness tracker said we walked like 2 miles. We went around in circles for a bit, but we didn’t get a chance to see the whole thing.

I guess there really isn’t much more I can say about it from a fitness stand point, other than it could be a great place to find a quiet(ish) spot and do some meditation, take the kids to wear them out (the children’s garden is worth the extra few bucks), or to take company when they’re in town! Wear comfy shoes, unless you’re out there taking fancy pictures! (We saw a few girls in fancy dresses out there taking pictures. The girls in the class loved seeing that!)

Leave a Reply

