Monday Motivation

After a super fun weekend, it’s back to the grind!

This weekend, we decided to take a spur-of-the-moment trip down to Galveston, TX and go to the beach. We’ve done this a couple times, as a day trip. We would get up really early, drive down, spend a couple hours at the beach, then head home. We live in the Dallas area, so depending on traffic it’s about 4 1/2- 5 hours one way. That makes for a long day. We were planning on doing that Sunday. then, around 2:30 Saturday afternoon, my husband was like “Why don’t we just go now?” So he booked a hotel while I scrambled to get packed up!

We got a hotel that wasn’t too far from my brother’s house, so even though it was short notice, we got to see them for a couple hours Sunday morning. I haven’t seen all of them in a loooong time, so it was fun seeing how much my nephews and niece have grown! then it was off to the beach!

We went to Stewart Beach. We thought it might be pretty crowded but it ended up not being too bad. Probably because there was a cool wind blowing. Getting in the water was ok, but coming out with that wind… well, that wasn’t fun! I spend the first 45 minutes with a long sleeve shirt on!

Summer is only a couple months away. I was hoping with some hard work and dedication, my body would be more “beach ready”. Was my body “beach ready” this weekend? Um, no.

Now, when I say “beach ready” we all have a different idea of what that means for us, so when I say my body was ready, I simply mean it’s not how I imagine looking when I go to the beach. Does this mean I’m going to shame my own body, or that of someone else? No! In fact, I barely paid attention to how other people looked because I was too busy having fun and looking after my kids to worry about how others looked, or how I might look to them.

I care more about being comfortable in my body. I’m not there yet. (I’m even more uncomfortable today with the sunburn I got! Somehow I just never got any sunscreen on, except for my face, so I’m a nice toasty red color today!) Am I going to beat myself up for daring to go out in public half naked without looking “ideal”? NO!

If anything, this has motivated me to work harder, eat better, drink more water, all that stuff. In a couple months I want to be comfortable. I wasn’t trying to cover up or hide anything, (except when I was chilly from the wind!) and I don’t want to feel like I have to in a couple of months. No one should feel like they have to cover up or hide anything, no matter what their body looks like.

Confidence is about how you see yourself, not how others see you. If you sit there worrying the whole time about what others think when they see you, you’re not going to enjoy yourself. The diet industry pays millions of dollars each year to tell you otherwise. They want you to believe you can only wear a swim suit if you’re thin. You can only enjoy yourself at the pool or beach if you’re tiny. Otherwise, here’s this cover up, loser. Are you going to let these complete strangers dictate how you feel? Or are you going to work hard to get where you want to be?

Hey, even if you don’t get there this year, don’t give up. You have to keep working. Don’t put it off until next Spring, because,  guess what? If you do that, you’re going to be right where you are this year. And the cycle goes on and on.

I’m not looking forward to working out over the next few days. Clothes are rubbing against my burns and I know sweat won’t feel great. But, I know where I am compared to where I want to be. So I’m going to suck it up and get to it! Who’s with me?!

Leave a Reply

