Jello for Your Health!

A few days ago, I came across something that explained why hospitals serve Jello all the time. This intrigued me, because I lived off that, broth, and popsicles when I was in the hospital for my appendix. Of course the title said something about how the answer will shock you… they gotta get you to read it somehow, right? I wasn’t shocked, but I was kind of like…. “Hmm, makes sense.”

The gelatin is made from bones, organs, and other fibrous tissues from animals that we don’t usually consume. As a result, we’re missing out on two important amino acids: glycine and proline. Yeah, it’s not fun to think about what gelatin is really made of. I remember finding that out as a kid and being freaked out. I’m sure I vowed never to eat it again, but, hey, Jello, amiright?

Why do we need glycine and proline? Well, if you want optimal hair, skin, and nails, you want these aminos. I don’t know if these are in those supplements people spend tons of money for. What would you rather spend money on, expensive supplements, or Jello? I vote Jello.

Gelatin is also full of protein. In the article I read (link below), it says a serving can have up to 6 grams! If you’re on a restrictive diet, you need all the nutrients you can get. Protein helps you feel fuller, which is really nice when you’re on a liquid diet. If I had known this when I was in the hospital, maybe I would’ve had a better attitude about it. I was getting pretty sick of Jello, and it was a while before I could eat it again. I mean, it’s good, but when you have it three times a day for three days, it loses its fun. It also has some of those good carbs and sugars your body needs when you’re on a restricted diet, making it a fairly balanced food.

The glycine is an anti-inflammatory, which helps wounds heal more quickly. If you’ve ever had major surgery, you know, you want to heal up as quickly as possible, so anything helps.  The gelatin also helps improve the health of your gut. I’m sure we all know by now how important gut health is to everyday life. If you’re looking for more foods to add to your diet to help your gut, add this to your list. As someone with gut problems, this caught my attention.Oh, and this stuff is also good for your skin, which I think is an added bonus. AND, it’s cheap and easy to make in large quantities!

I’m not positive, but I think there are other forms of gelatin out there you can use if you’re vegan or the thought of crushed up bones makes you squeamish, but you won’t get all the benefits of regular gelatin.

If you want more information, you can check out the article I read about it here . There were a few others that were basically the same exact article, so I’m not sure which one is the original. They give a little more information about some of the health benefits such as assisting with weight loss and helping you sleep better.

Like I said, once I read all this, it was like, “Oh, okay! I get it now!” so, next time you go for that wiggly treat, rest easy knowing you’re getting some important health benefits!

Here is that link again for this particular article I am referencing. As always, if you’re interested or skeptical, check things out for yourself! Article here

Leave a Reply

