Monday Motivation

This weekend I went for my first run in… a while. Maybe it was because it’s been a while since I last went running, or maybe because I just got done doing some lifting, or maybe because it was at least 30 degrees warmer than last time, but whatever the reason, I just had a really hard time. Only a little bit in, I decided I needed to cut it short. Even cut short, I had to stop and walk. A few times.

Normally this would have me feeling kind of defeated. I would beat myself up and wonder where I went wrong.

But not this time. This was one of those times where I listened to my body and I knew I made the right choice to stop when I did. There are those times I want to give up because I’m “tired”, but there is a difference between being “tired” and being tired when it comes to working out. The key is to listen to your body.

I can’t tell you exactly what that means, because we’re all different. That’s one of those things you just have to learn yourself. I guess the point is when you do have to cut a workout short because your body is just done, don’t beat yourself up. There are many reasons you could be feeling this way. Get some rest and hit it the next chance you get.

Leave a Reply

