Monday Motivation

img_20170130_083551

Don’t worry, the mismatched socks are intentional!

I’m always on the look out for ways to make life run smoother, especially the mornings. See that delicious looking breakfast I had this morning? Well, after getting up a little later than usual and rushing through the morning, there was no way I was going to get a healthy breakfast. So how did I end up with this?

Meal prep!

Yesterday I cooked up sausage and bacon and fried some potatoes, separated them into individual servings, and froze them. I made the eggs this morning. I didn’t pre-cook the eggs because we didn’t think those would be good re-heating them in the microwave, and they don’t take long to make.

We like doing these home made. We have bought the ones from the store before, but they’re so full of sodium and other preservatives. Fried potatoes aren’t the healthiest thing, but we know exactly what is in them… potato, oil, and bit of salt. One of these days I’m going to try baking them in the oven with a bit of olive oil.

Meal prepping does take a lot of time up front, but in the end, it’s worth the time. I don’t do it as much as I would like, but when I do, it makes life so much easier. I don’t have to think about what I’m going to eat for lunch, I can just grab a container of whatever, heat it up if needed, and eat! It makes eating healthier easier because you’re food is ready to go. You’re not tempted by the un-healthy stuff. (Okay, the temptation is still there, but if you bring your lunch with you, you don’t have an excuse to go out!)

When I do meal prep, how do I do it?

I really like soup. I’m pretty much the only one in the family that eats any soup besides chicken noodle, so when I make soup, I have it all to myself! I make a batch, portion it out in mason jars or plastic containers, and then re-heat as needed.

Or if we have left overs, I’ll eat those! I used to not be a fan of left-overs, but now they’re amazing.

Fire up the grill! Grilling is a pretty healthy way to cook a large batch of food at once. Just yesterday my husband grilled some chicken, hambugars, and bratwurst. That’s a couple lunches and dinners for us! (If you haven’t tried it before, bratwurst with eggs in the morning is amazing!)

I wish I had more ideas and secrets, but I’m still learning. My biggest problem is cooking chicken in a way where it won’t dry out when re-heated. Any suggestions for that?

Leave a Reply

