Workout Wednesday

Well, I’m totally sore from my workout yesterday! It was pretty simple but man, it’s some good work! I did a 3-2-1 thing, so like the first set I did 3 of each movement, then 2 of each, 1 of each, and I increased the weight a little between sets. The movements were:

Cleans
Front squat
Thruster
Jerk

I didn’t do a ton of weight because my upper body isn’t very strong (yet). I can clean maybe 100 pounds and front squat more than that, but the over-head movements like the thruster and jerk are hard. I can’t remember for sure, but I think the first set I did I did 65 lbs, then 75, then 80. Oh, and the goal was to do it in less than 7 minutes. It was pretty easy, but I had the weights close by so between sets I could quickly add them so as not to eat up my time. My timer messed up part way through but I know I finished somewhere between 2 and 2.5 minutes!

After that I did a long Tabata of push-ups and hollow holds. If you want an ab workout, hollow holds are a good thing to add in there…

hollow

This isn’t the most accurate drawing of what you do for a hollow hold, but it’s the best I can do with my limited artistic ability! Hopefully it at least gives you an idea of what to do… lie on your back, then hollow out your body so your legs and arms are up, and your body is in kind of a smooth curve.

Leave a Reply

