Workout Wednesday

I’m trying to get a little more active on here, so I’m going to try and keep up with what I call Workout Wednesday! Every week, I’m going to share a workout I’ve done in the past week!

Monday I had to workout from home. We’re on a 2nd floor of an apartment, so I have to be kind of careful with what I do so the downstairs neighbor doesn’t complain. (wish the upstairs neighbors were so courteous!)

I decided to get all creative with this….

workout

You might be looking at this wondering “What the heck is a Tabata? Sally Up? Huh?Allow me to explain.

A tabata is when you do some rounds of high intensity exercise. Typically you do 20 seconds of hard and fast exercise, rest 10 seconds, repeat. You usually do this for 4 minutes, or 8 rounds. So, for example, my first Tabata, I did 20 seconds of push-ups, 10 second rest, 20 second plank, 10 second rest, repeat. You don’t have to switch off exercises, you can do the whole thing doing the same exercise.

I love Tabatas. You can do any exercise for a Tabata. They’re great when you don’t have a lot of time, space, whatever. You can do sprints, burpees, jumping jacks, mountain climbers, whatever! Because you’re working at a high intensity, you can do a few of these and get a fantastic workout. Here it is two days later, and I’m pretty sore from the push-ups, plank, and handstands. (My upper body is my weak area, so I tend to get super sore there.)

You can do this at any fitness level, modify however you want? Knee push-ups are just fine. Want to add some weight? Go for it!

You can use a timer or clock to keep track of time, or there are songs people have made to help out. This one below is one we use to workout. they count down so you don’t have to look at the clock, and it’s kind of repetitive, so after a little bit, you kind of know “Okay, almost done with this round.”

 

Sally Up. Aaaaah, Sally. A lot of Crossfitters have come to develop a love/hate relationship with this song. We usually do squats with this song, but like in the video, some do push-ups, and there are a few other things you can do with this.

When we do squats, we stand when it says “Bring Sally up” and then hold a squat down when it says “Bring Sally down.” doesn’t seem so bad, but there are a few spots where you have to hold it a little longer. At the end of a tough work-out, this is no fun at all. If you want to get really crazy, you can hold some weight when you do it.

 

Well, that’s my Wednesday Workout of the week!! Hope this gives some of you some fun ideas for your workouts!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

