This weekend my husband and I went to see the Moscow’s Ballet Great Russian Nutcracker. It was pretty amazing. I’ve seen the Nutcracker exactly one time. When I was in 4th grade. It was a youth production. It was still cool, but it was no where near the level of amazingness as this professional production. I could go on and on about how incredible it was, but I’ll try to contain myself.

One of the things that really struck me was thinking about the years and year and hours of training and practice that go into putting on a production like this. There were the cute little girls from local dance studios dancing along-side seasoned professionals. I can just imagine these little girls watching these grown ups and dreaming of dancing those parts when they’re older.

It was amazing what some of these dancers were doing. The flexibility, muscle control, and trust between dancers is something I can only dream of having. Even though I could never do those things, I’m pumped up after watching it. I may not ever be able to do some crazy split thing while someone is holding me up in the air, but I can work towards lifting heavier weight. I can work towards running a certain distance. A certain number of push-ups in a minute. Being able to get through tough workouts.

Instead of focusing on what I can’t do, I’m going to focus on what I can do, and I encourage you to do the same! The holidays are upon us, so you may not have as much time to workout, but you can do something. Anything. 30 minutes. Get to it!

Leave a Reply

